Mrs. Meeks' 1st Grade Blog
 

Shape Hunt I Spy

Picture
Starting this week, we are learning about 2D and 3D shapes. We are describing how they look and getting familar with new vocabulary to correctly identify the shapes. An idea to do at home is play Shape Hunt I Spy to describe 2D and 3D shapes around your home. Go on a shape hunt and see how many things you can find that have shapes.

After you have finished playing Shape Hunt I Spy, post a comment sharing a list of the different shapes you found around your house or somewhere else in your community. After playing  Shape Hunt I Spy at my house, my list might look like this:

Mrs. Meeks List of Shapes
1. volleyball ~ a sphere
2. front door ~ rectangle
3. a piece of pizza~ triangle
4. kleenex box ~ cuboid

What 2D and 3D shapes do you see in your house?

Emma
4/25/2011 09:59:15 am

Emma's shaps she finds.Handol on the door is a circlo.Fish tank is a squae.Mikerwave is a rectangle.Egg is a ovle.Blankit bench on the side is a hart.On my moms ring is a diamond.

Reply
Ashlynn
4/26/2011 09:43:09 am

Bottle cap is a circol.

Reply
Ashlynn
4/26/2011 10:25:19 am

A wall is a 2D sqare. Also the bear head is a toingl.The mikerwave is a retangl.

Reply
Michael
4/28/2011 01:34:18 am

I found that my home has a lot of shapes. I found a fan that is circle, Front door is rectangle, an egg is oval, and a picture is rectangle.

Reply
Alannah
4/28/2011 03:40:38 pm

I found in my house a box that is a cuboid that is a 3d.I found in my house is a softball that is a circle and that is a 2d.I found in my house a pillow that is a square that is a 2d.sorry class and mrs.meeks for comitt I aasdeliy pressed enter when I was not soposto press enter.

Reply
Annie
5/2/2011 12:24:04 pm

My mom's calender is a square. A picture I made for my mom is a rectangle. A door nob is a circle.

Reply
Dominic
5/3/2011 09:14:58 am

speaker box - cube
picture frame - rectangle
candle - cylinder
whoopie cushion - circle
lampshade - pyramid

Reply
mason c.
5/12/2011 09:17:52 am

What I found in my home was a door and it was a rectangle. I found a fake treasure chest and it is a cuboid. I found a printer and it is a rectangle.Also I found a sharpener and on the bottom of it is a oval.I found a camra and it is a cube.i found a bottom of a glue stick and it is oval. I found a 3D circle. Also I found a cuboid.that was the end of my stuff.

Reply



Leave a Reply.